Conference Program

 All presentations are available on demand now!


October 13: Industrial Automation

14:30 CEST
Paris Time
08:30am EST
New York Time

Boards and Solutions Opening

Welcome and Conference Opening by ASPENCORE Editors Nitin Dahad and Maurizio Di Paolo Emilio

14:40 CEST
08:40am EST
Add to Calendar

Accelerating Innovation in Industrial Automation

John Heinlein, Vice President, High Performance IoT, Automotive and IoT Line, Arm
The innovation in industrial automation is accelerating, driven by the convergence of OT/IT, cloud-to-edge software deployment and workload consolidation to reduce the cost and complexity of system management. Future industrial automation solutions need to combine four main technologies: high-performance efficient computing, functional safety, security and real-time capabilities. This session will explore how technology is evolving to solve these industry challenges.

15:10 CEST
09:10am EST
Add to Calendar

Embedded Processing Solutions at the Edge: not your Father’s MCU

Philippe Magarshack, Microcontrollers and Digital ICs Group, Group VP, Strategy Technology & Systems Architecture, ST Microelectronics
Embedded processing is the underlying force enabling Industry 4.0, wearables, smart Homes, as well as business processing like IoT fleet management from the cloud. Enabling this requires a coherent portfolio of MCUs and MPUs for the full spectrum of performance and ultra-low power, connectivity solutions, and end-to-end security, while embedding artificial intelligence and machine learning for end nodes. All these complex functions need a complete ecosystem of hardware and software to enable IoT developers to hit the ground running to implement new product ideas.

15:40 CEST
09:40am EST
Add to Calendar

Fundamentals of Success for Industrial Automation Innovation in the 5G Era

Hitoshi Shirakabe, vice president, marketing, Enterprise Infrastructure Business Division, IoT and Infrastructure Business Unit, Renesas
As the 5G era unfolds, removing many of the major network and low-latency bandwidth constraints, digital transformation in the manufacturing industry is being accelerated, and local 5G deployment will gain further momentum. These generate new demand for capabilities such as remote control of robotics, high-resolution image processing & analytics, real-time & timestamp network, and failure prediction and detection through artificial intelligence (AI). To materialize 5G technology into industrial automation applications, fundamental device technologies such as time-sensitive networking, embedded AI, security against cyberattacks and functional safety will be essential in achieving successful IIoT innovation in the era of 5G.

16:10 CEST
10:10am EST
Add to Calendar

PANEL DISCUSSION — Industrial Automation Trends

Panel Discussion with experts from the industry about technical trends in Automation.

Moderators:

  • Nitin Dahad, Editor with Aspencore
  • Maurizio Di Paolo Emilio, Editor with Aspencore

Panelists:

  • Hans-Peter Nüdling, business strategy executive, Portwell
  • Salvatore De Rosa, Product Marketing Director, IBASE
  • Gianluca Venere, Chief Innovation Officer, SECO
17:00 CEST
11:00am EST
Add to Calendar

Modularity: the route to faster time to market with modern technologies

Carsten Rebmann, Product Manager Modules, ADLINK
There is a constant demand for new, superior products which offer innovative features, universal usability and faster reaction. With the addition of Edge capabilities, improved security requirements and the development of new machine, system and component combinations, design has become increasingly complex. So how can we continue to raise quality and performance and still get products to market in record time? The answer lies in using the right building blocks - from hardware construction over hardware abstraction layers to pre-programmed APIs – in order to create products using a modular concept.

17:10 CEST
11:10am EST
Add to Calendar

How Will You Shape Critical and Embedded Computing?

Jerry Gipper, Executive Director, VITA
Open standards for embedded computing are widely embraced and required in many industries. The wave of open standard adoption continues to grow because standards development organizations, such as VITA, are systematically adopting new innovation key to mission success. This presentation opens with what VITA is doing as a key contributor to open standards development. It concludes with suggestions on how you can participate in shaping the future of critical and embedded computing.

October 14: Smart Cities

09:00 CEST
Paris Time
03:00pm CST
Beijing Time
Add to Calendar

How AI can make cities smarter - Powering AI City with IVA

Charbel Aoun, EMEA Business Development Director, Smart Cities, Nvidia
With the explosion of connected devices, cities are flooded with data. Evidence shows how difficult and inefficient it is to benefit from all this data. AI today is helping make sense of the information overload in very effective and efficient ways, provides insight and enables real time decision making, to enhance the lives of citizens. From traffic engineering, patient healthcare, frictionless retail, public safety and more, AI offers city managers new solutions to 21st century urban challenges.

09:30 CEST
03:30pm CST
Add to Calendar

Evolution of Cybersecurity Legislation Across IoT

Haydn Povey, CEO, Secure Thingz, and General Manager Embedded Security Solutions, IAR Systems
Legislation is already impacting many IoT and OT systems, with the development of US and European laws, and across the globe. This comprises best practices, standards, plus compliance frameworks which organizations must implement for connected devices, or face potentially existential penalties, not to mention brand and reputational damage. Covering many applications, from consumer electronics through to critical infrastructure, industrial and automotive platforms, more standards are in development. We need to step up to this challenge to protect our customers and to make it safe to connect.

10:00 CEST
04:00pm CST
Add to Calendar

Why zero touch onboarding and provisioning is vital for secure smart cities

Bobby Vale, Head of IoT Platforms and Ecosystem, Advantech
A smart city is not necessarily a secure city and having the right security measures in place is integral not just to compliance but confidence. The challenge is heightened as more and more IoT devices are introduced into the field, taking increasing effort, time and cost to configure and deploy. Rapidly onboarding these devices to ensure they operative effectively and keeping them fully updated is critical to harnessing their true potential. This presentation will examine the latest developments in zero touch onboarding and over-the-air update mechanisms to mitigate the effort.

10:40 CEST
04:40pm CST
Add to Calendar

PANEL DISCUSSION — Smart Cities Trends

Panel Discussion with experts from the industry about technical trends with Smart Cities.

Moderators:

  • Nitin Dahad, Editor with Aspencore
  • Maurizio Di Paolo Emilio, Editor with Aspencore

Panelists:

  • Bobby Vale, Head of IoT Platforms and Ecosystem, Advantech
  • Haydn Povey, CEO, Secure Thingz, and General Manager Embedded Security Solutions, IAR Systems
  • Philippe Magarshack, Microcontrollers and Digital ICs Group, Group VP, ST Microelectronics
11:30 CEST
05:30pm CST
Add to Calendar

PICMG Open Standards for The Next Generation of Embedded Computing

Jessica Isquith, President of the PICMG consortium
The session will introduce COM-HPC, the forthcoming open standard for high-performance Computer-on-Modules (COMs). COM-HPC will complement the phenomenally successful COM Express standard. It will be the first open standard for developing modular embedded rack server and box server designs for harsh environment edge computing. The presentation will also provide an overview of PICMG processes and 2020 initiatives

11:40 CEST
05:40pm CST
Add to Calendar

PC/104 Beyond 2020: Emerging Trends

Roy Keeler, Vice President PC/104 Consortium
For decades, the PC/104 form factor has spanned many generations of processors and interfaces, always with the goal of making computing solutions as compact, modular, and enduring as possible. Why does PC/104 remain the favored small form factor (SFF) for embedded solutions in markets where vibration, fluctuating power, granular debris, and round-the-clock use can’t be allowed to interrupt critical application uptime. What does the future hold for this SFF for the next generation, is it the EDGE?

October 14: Edge Computing

14:30 CEST
Paris Time
08:30am EST
New York Time
Add to Calendar

Insights into edge autonomy - the future of edge computing

Jim Liu, CEO and Founder, ADLINK Technology
Data is now considered the core asset in edge computing. When transmitted in real-time, at the right moment to make the right decision and eventually take the right action – that’s edge autonomy. While core autonomy focuses on making each individual machine, robot or device as smart as possible, the next level is swarm autonomy, when all the connected things start sharing intelligence. This is the ultimate aim of edge computing, to maximize operational efficiency and generate the greatest benefits. Jim Liu explains this aim as the way forward for edge computing, also touching on mobile, operating systems, connectivity and hardware infrastructure needed to support autonomy.

15:00 CEST
9:00am EST
Add to Calendar

AI Edge Streamline Solution into your Embedded Platform

Gian Claudio Lolli, sales director Aaeon South Europe, AAEON
This talk looks at how current IPC technology solutions can improve industrial applications on the edge and enable the AI in terms of security, privacy, fast response and robustness. The AI journey and which edge markets can be addressed in accordance with the needs of new trends is explored, along with how it can be used to leverage the edge embedded platform.

15:30 CEST
9:30am EST
Add to Calendar

Industry 4.0 at the Edge

Jeff Sharpe, Director IoT & 5G Embedded Solutions, Supermicro
Join Supermicro in a keynote presentation discussing why intelligent edge computing is crucial to the next industrial revolution. This session will review specific “intelligent edge” use cases; how AI Inferencing and containerization of applications will supercharge productivity, establish safety in the workplace and greatly simplify the management of remote edge solutions. It will also discuss the overall benefits of 5G in smart manufacturing and its positive impact on quality improvements, supply chain management, asset tracking, and financial benefits across a variety of use cases. It will look at real-life edge-based use cases in a broad ecosystem of partners, including NodeWeaver, SAS, NetApp, TTTech and others to improve efficiency and reduce costs in Industrial 4.0 evolution.

16:00 CEST
10:00am EST
Add to Calendar

PANEL DISCUSSION — Technical Trends in Edge Computing

Panel Discussion with experts from the industry about technical trends in Edge Computing.

Moderators:

  • Nitin Dahad, Editor with Aspencore
  • Maurizio Di Paolo Emilio, Editor with Aspencore

Panelists:

  • Steve Cammish VP Edge Solutions, ADLINK Technology
  • Jeff Sharpe, Director IoT & 5G Embedded Solutions, Supermicro
  • Haydn Povey, CEO, Secure Thingz, and General Manager Embedded Security Solutions, IAR Systems
  • Gianluca Venere, Chief Innovation Officer, SECO
16:50 CEST
10:50am EST
Add to Calendar

Ultra-Small Embedded Solutions for Empowering IoT Era

Steven Wu, VP of R&D Center, DFI Inc.
Rather than constructing a brand new world, IoT aims to reshape our life. The technology will be embedded or coexisted with the things surrounding us. The size of IoT devices is matter allowing them fit in seamlessly. This session will elaborate how DFI packs high-performance edge computing solutions into its smallest form to empower IoT applications.

17:00 CEST
11:00am EST
Add to Calendar

Total Hardware Solution from Edge to Cloud

Mateusz Faliszek, Business Development Manager, Portwell
Follow the data from the creation point to the cloud. This presentation will provide you with guidelines how to select suitable hardware for each step in the data flow.